Jensen Block

This is my third block for our Around the World Quilting Bee. I am trying to make a different block for each quilt. Not just to keep it unique, but so I can expand my piecing skills. This block looked simple enough, but there were a lot of bias cut triangles. This caused the shapes to want to stretch as they were sewn. I was also reminded that you should always check one piece before you chain a bunch of them together. Figuring out that the seam should have gone on the other side of the triangles afterwards is a bummer. Oh well, I was able to spend some quality time with my seam ripper.

I think I will make a few more of these blocks to use up the fabric. One of my friends has a couch that needs a nice lap quilt, and I think it’s coloring would complement the fabric quite nicely. Perhaps I will have it done for Christmas. It is never too early to start thinking about that sort of thing.

