End cuts

OK, so that was a bad pun. If you ask my friends and family, they will tell you that it probably won’t be the last you will see from me.

We use wood to heat our home. So, if we don’t put up wood in the summer it gets really cold and damp in the house in the fall and winter. Not the ideal situation, so we have been working hard to make sure we have enough laid in so we don’t have to go out and buy wood. Some of the logs are small enough in diameter that they can be cut the right length and stacked. Others need to be split to fit in the woodstove. While this is great exercise that I actually like, and Lord knows I need it, it tends to make my hand go numb. So I either need to do more of it or lay off. I guess I’ll have to work harder as we don’t have all of the wood in for the year.

Stacking it up

I think we finished off that row with what I had left to split. It is about half full now. If we can fill it up, then we ought to get by with that and a pallet of the ultra dense presto logs for the season. The presto logs burn better over night, or if we have to be out of the house most of the day and can’t keep feeding the stove.

With these types of chores on the weekends, I get to squeeze in the sewing during the week. I will be happy that we have this and the other “Summer” chores done come mid-winter though.

