I have never claimed to be good at math, just ask my sister.

When it came time to deal with the setting triangles for this cute little “leftover” quilt, I figured I had it all worked out, no problem. The setting triangles on the sides didn’t give me any trouble. They went in just fine, giving me a false sense of hope that this would go quickly.

When I re-read the directions for the larger quilt I made that generated all of these lovely little Half Square Triangles (HST) I turned into pinwheels, I just scaled down the directions. Makes sense, right? Ooh No. For some reason 2, yes just 2, of the 4 corners were too small when they were folded back and pressed. Seeing as I am not the math whiz. I caved in and took a simple route.

"leftovers" setting corner

I added a rectangle and trimmed it afterwards. I am sure that this is another form of “quilt cheating”, and I will eventually be punished. But it got the top finished and off of my dining room table, where people are going to want to eat this weekend. ‘Cause, that’s what I invited them over for!

I’ll show you how it all turns out once I decide if I am going to add borders or just quilt it and let the binding be the border.

