I haven’t made Shrinky Dinks since the late 70’s or early 80’s. I remember making them by the dozen as a kid. I don’t know exactly what we did with them after they were made and shrunk down, but we made them anyway. We needed to put names on the backpacks in Emily’s pre-school class. The parent helpers need a way to identify which papers go in which bag.

Before

I happened to have a few sheets of Shrinky Dinks material that I bought for another project, custom buttons I think. I printed off the names in large fun fonts, traced them on in permanent marker, cut them out in tag shapes, and punched holes.

Put them in a 325 degree oven, and look!During the Shrink Here they go! They curl up while they shrink and get thicker. They will lay flat once they have reached their final size. They get to be about 1/8 of an inch thick once they have shrunk down,

After and end up much smaller. The colors also get darker when they shrink. I will find either split rings (like a key ring), or some ribbon to tie these on to the kids backpacks on Monday. I hope they like them.

We may end up making some of these in the class room as a fun rainy day project. You can color the frosted stuff with colored pencils, much safer than a bunch of 3 to 5 year-olds with permanent Sharpie markers!

I guess there are some retro things that are worth bringing back. Keep the Shrinky Dinks, and loose the leg warmers!

