I finally finished up the tops for the Missouri Start Quilt Company’s Quilts for Kids drive. We had been feeling a bit under the weather around here and I didn’t get them off in the mail as soon as I would have liked, but they are now on their way.

Help measuring the quilt top

This is the top I made from the extra set of disappearing 9-patch blocks that I got back from Aunt PittyPat’s swap. It is very red, and I am sure some cowboy or cowgirl will love it!Red Cowpoke top closeup

I had this Churn Dash top designed before I made the two smaller tops from the earlier post. It was only supposed to be 9 blocks, but I found afterward that I had actually cut 12 center blocks of bug fabric. Then I discovered that I had enough orange fabric for the block with the exception one corner triangle. Great! I was finally able to find another fat quarter of it, so I could finish the block.

Churn Dash w/ bugs

This top is made with big blocks of novelty train fabric and the beige is actually polished cotton from the early 90’s! Who knew that once you washed the hideously shiny stuff that it actually looks halfway decent. There is a low luster, but none of the shine. Thank goodness, cause I have more to use up!

Train top layered with the blue backing

I was able to find decent backings for all of the quilts. The train top will be backed with a denim blue flannel or “outing” as Grandma calls it.

For those of you who have never tried this, it makes a perfect batting too. It is a great weight with the flannel sandwiched between the top and bottom layer of cotton. It doesn’t shift or bunch up after many washings either. Another handy tip from the sewers in my family! Thanks Gram!

Now on to the other things on my “To Do” list! I have two more blocks to work on for the ATWQB too. Yipee!

