For those of you who live in the southern part of the U.S. this won’t mean much to you. Well, unless you think about going without one for years at a time.

The Sonic Drive-ins have been around in the Oklahoma & Texas areas for as long as I can remember.  My aunt Shelly turned me on to Cherry Limeades many years ago. Since my dad’s side of the family lives in OK and I live in WA, that meant I could only get these little sips of heaven when I visited them.Cherry Limeade HEAVEN!

Contained inside this unassuming styrofoam cup is one of the most delightful and refreshing beverages known to man. The Cherry Limeade. I think it is a combination of freshly squeezed limes, lemon-lime soda, and maraschino cherry syrup served over that funny pelleted ice, and garnished with some of the squeezed limes and a cherry. I don’t know the exact formula, and don’t really care.

All I know is that Sonic has finally opened up a couple of franchises here in Washington State. The first one had horrendous lines of people waiting to get in. Seriously, people waited for hours to get in and tied up traffic for miles.  I was NOT one of those crazy people.

The latest one to open up is on my way to our monthly WASART board meeting. Whoo Hoo! It only took me about 10 minutes to get through the drive through line, and probably less if I had pulled into a stall. I will be leaving a bit early for the meetings now, just so I can pick up one of these little gems on my way!

According to the guy at the window, I was not the only one who has been jonesing for one of these babies. To my family in OK, don’t worry, I will still come and visit, but now my first stop will be your place instead of the first Sonic I can find!

P.S. I didn’t drink both of them, I brought the other one home for my sweet hubby who watched the little princess while I was at my meeting. FYI don’t let the pre-schooler have some before you want her to go to bed. Bad idea Mom, bad idea. Someday I will learn.

