This is the last county fair I have on my schedule for the year. I have visited quite a few of them this year. Each one has their own special appeal. This one has some of the greatest variety of animals and food we have seen this year.

We have taken to packing our own lunch, as the cost of food would have put a serious dent in the budget with this many fairs over the summer. Some of them tend to rely heavily on the fried foods, and at our ages, we don’t need any help with cholesterol!

This fair had some unusual animals in attendance. The first was this display of parrots and other birds that are typically made into house pets. If I remember correctly, this was a bird rescue/sanctuary. She was selling hand made toys for the birds. These birds were really cool. I don’t want to own one, mind you, but I might enjoy playing with one. The red fellow was absolutely fascinated with the camera. They have quite the reach with the beak if they want to explore something. The others were just as happy to watch us from the perch.

We also toured the barns with the more standard farm animals. This fair has some really nice accommodations for the animals of different species. I’d like to see a bigger goat barn, but I might be a bit prejudiced in that area. The pens for the Llamas were very nice, and so were the llamas. This one had a sign on the stall inviting you to pet him on the neck if he was standing at the gate. The Miss Em took him up on it, and pronounced him “Very soft ” and a “Nice llama”.

Thanks Dad for lifting me up!

One of our last stops before I headed back to judge the show was the poultry barn. My daughter has the strange ability to irritate the roosters just by being in their presence. She was walking by and looking into the cages, and the roosters would fluff up and make aggressive challenge charges at the cages. I was watching to see if she was poking at them or something, but no, “just looking with my eyes” as she says.

It amazes me what they remember and pull out from what you say. That phrase came from me telling her, probably repeatedly, that “We look with our eyes and not with our hands.”

We didn’t stay too long in the chicken house. We then went to see the waterfowl & large poultry section. I found the kind of ducks that I will allow my husband to have if he “must” have ducks on the farm.

Any duck that looks like he should belong to a “Hair Club for Men” commercial gone horribly wrong has a home on my farm. I also like his sooty gray color.

We did have another run it with the Little Miss and the geese. One of the big ones was trying to bite or chew through the chicken wire and was clawing at the fence while raising a huge honking ruckus while she was looking at them. I did mention to it that I had a nice recipe for roasted goose and did the words foi gras mean anything. It was still trying to get through the fencing as we were leaving. I don’t think my daughter has a very bright future as a poultry farmer if this is the way the animals behave in her presence.

The goat show went well. I would have loved to have seen more animals in the show, but the ones I did see were nice. The meat goats looked especially tasty, but that might have been encouraged by the occasional waft of smoke from the BBQ pit across the way.

