It is sad. My 3.5 quart Crockpot is dead. I was making chicken soup and when I tapped the spoon on the rim to get all of the yummy goodness back into the pot I heard a tiny “boiing”. That was it. The sound of Crockpot Death.

I ended up transferring the soup to the stove top to finish it off. Hoping that it was just a fluke, I cleaned up the crockpot and today I got around to filling it with water and turned it on.

Nothing.

I can’t believe that Mom has had her lovely avacado green one for somewhere close to 40 years and I have had mine for less than 15. I guess they really don’t build them like they used to! (I have probably just cursed Mom’s. Sorry about that.)

It seems so wasteful to just toss it out, but nobody will try to fix it for less than I can buy a new one. I guess I’ll save the lid and send it on. (Mom’s glass lid has a nice chip in it, and she could use the plastic one as a replacement.) I just hope that the volumes of cardboard, cans, and plastic we recycle will help make up for adding this to the landfill.

If anybody has a need for a non-functioning crockpot, let me know. It’ll be here until the end of the week.

Update: 2/2/2011
Well, I did it. Mom’s died too. Hers had a much longer run than mine. Maybe we’ll put them out together. Sad, so so sad.

